yz 250f or yz 125

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

98warrior

Reaction score
Well i've been thinking of buying a dirtbike and probably will next summer but have never really rode dirtbikes before. I dont want a bike that i'll grow out of after a few months so i think i narrowed it down to a yz 125 or maybe a yz 250f. i know both of them run strong or so i've heard but not sure of which would fit me best. what are the pro's and con's of these bikes?

ive only rode a 2004 honda 150cc (4 stroke) but those bikes are full size so you won't grow out of 'em. i know all the pros are going to fourstroke but i know for a fact that the yz 125 ripps!! wish I could ride one, but not going to happen! I would go by price wise, cause i think they all have the same maintenance involved. im not an expert :p so good luck in getting a bike!

both of these bikes are awesome but i would get the 250f. the 125 would need more maintenance because its a 2 stroke. you would have to get it rebuilt at least once a year if you rode it hard. the 250 would be more reliable and easier to to ride due to its broader powerband but its about 650 bucks more than the 125.