I got screwed!

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

topdwg

Reaction score
Fired up the warrior yesterday and right off the bat I noticed it wouldn't idle worth a damm. So I figured maybe it just needs to warm up, not the case. After riding around in the yard for a bit it got worse, she started popping and backfiring like crazy. I say I got screwed because no more than two months ago I took her in to my good ol' dealership to be re-jetted. While there the service manager informed me that they were having a sale on Moose jet kits. I figured why not, what's another 20 bucks on top of the already 50. Anyway, since my tools finally arrived I decided to take the carb out and see what the jetting was. Here's what I found, keep in mind I'm no carb expert. The Moose directions said the needle clip needed to be on 4, with their 148 main jet installed. What I actually found was the clip on 3, with a 136 main? To make a long story short I moved the clip to 4, put the 148 in and she runs perfect. My wife says I should call and complain, I'll more then likely just chalk it up as a "learning experiance," meaning that was the last time they get any of my business.

Does the 148 jet and clip on the 4 groove sound right? My motor is stock, with the exception of a full exhaust and K&N drop in.

Yea that sounds about right depending what type of pipe you got. They must realy bin trying to **** you considering it comes stock with a 145 main.

No kidding, I'm still pretty pissed! I might just send an email to the owner, maybe he'd like to know what his mechanics are doing or should I say NOT doing...

I would let them know cause when I worked in a garage we were suppose to save all of the old parts so tht the customer could see if we did the work or not.