96 350 won't rev up

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rollerstud98

Reaction score
My 96 350 does not rev up, hit the throttle and it starts to backfire and spit gas out the carb. Not sure what it could be. I cleaned the carb out real good because before it would just stall out when you touched the throttle or turned off the choke. Now it stays running but just won't rev up. Timing tensioner seems to be good so I'm not sure what else it could be as I have no knowledge of these bikes.

Where on the carb is the gas coming out of?

I have the filter housing off and it is spitting it out there, I guess it is backfiring when it does that.

Hmm sounds like it may have jumped pout of time, for whatever reason. Timing chain/sprockets may be worn.

I would pull it apart and check to see if everything is in spec.

Thats what we thought as well, when we align the T with the mark on the case on the bottom of the motor, the top alignment is about 1/2 a tooth off of TDC, not sure if that is enough to throw it off that much. Do these bikes need a battery to run? Right now I have no battery on it.

Could it maybe be something to do with the reverse switch or park brake causing the rev limiter to kick in?

wont rev up

hey i got the same problem with my wolvie...wont rev up , sputters, backfires and mist comming out of the air box side of the carb...it starts good and idles fine but wont rev. i checked timing as well looked fine marks match.. i havent got around to checking valve clearances i'll keep ya posted....

Try unplugging your park brake first, then see about grounding out the reverse switch, I read about guys having these problems pretty common. I haven't gotten around to doing anymore work on mine yet.