Welding

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

N3VER

Reaction score
I go to a technical school here in Arkansas. But i am currently in Heating and Air classes but i am starting to not really like it very much. I am now thinking of changing my major to welding and want to see if any of you guys on here are welders by trade, and if so what do you think of doing it for a living?

Dang i figured there were some career welders on here. I know there are plenty of hobby welders on here.

I can weld mig with the best of them but I wouldn't wanna do it as a career, its hard on organs and way to hot here in tx

2Kwar is a professional welder. I'm sure he can fill you in.

I just tig on my own stuff as needed with my brothers setup.....and its pretty crappy. Lots of grinding on my welds. Hahahah

Welding has a type of radiation that kills eyes and can lead to skin cancer.

But there's nothing like taking raw steel and creating something useful without screws or nails.

Welding has a type of radiation that kills eyes and can lead to skin cancer.

But there's nothing like taking raw steel and creating something useful without screws or nails.

Seems like that could be avoided with proper equipment.

I've never taken a course for it, but am a natural at it, and have had tutalege (?) several time from a few different professional welders I know. I can mig awesome, and stick pretty well. I don't often have to use stick and my stick welder is ancient, so it's not my strongest point. You can make good money doing it, however, burns, sunburn (yes you can get that welding), inhaling metal dust, etc... gets old. It does feel great to take a hunk of metal and make it into something. I should post pics of my 10ton equiptment trailer I put a gooseneck on.