stumblin/poppin

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bickel76

Reaction score
well, i just rebuilt my carb, and she sounds sooo much healthier. runs strong except when i get one it, it wants to pop/stumble or whatever. i have the jet that came with the rebuild kit in it. here are my few mods that could affect the jetting - t-4, pro design intake, and no airbox lid. do you think that jetting is my problem? if so, i dont really want to buy a dynojet kit because i am planning on getting an edel in the near future. are you able to buy individual jets? if so, what sizes do you guys recommend? i was told before probably a 150.

the plug looks excellent. i pulled it out and compared it to the "how to read spark plugs" thread in the tutorial section. it is the same plug that i've been using for about 8 months. i'm gonna go ahead and pick up a couple of new plugs and do a plug chop. i figure with the plug i have, if it is running rich, i would be able to notice a difference while we were tuning the carb, but if it is running lean, there might not be a change in the plug. i dont know, i'm just thinking out loud. i dont want to go through a handful of spark plugs if i can do some adjusting first, and then do a couple plug chops.

to me, it sounds like it is poppin at the exhaust, but i'm not positive about that. i will have to ask pops when he gets up and i will pay more attention to it. i noticed that it acts up at about 3/4 throttle, primarily on accel.

sounds like you may be running lean... try going up a size or two on the main jet. I'm running similar mods (w/ piston, cam, P&P, etc) and my main jet is a 152 dynojet. Maybe start somewhere in that area.

If its acting up mainly at 3/4 throttle you should start with moving the neddle.