Oil cooler questions?

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dodgewarrior

Reaction score
I've done a quick search on this and couldn't quite find the answers I needed. I'm new to the ATV world but do have mechanical knowledge. I wanna do this mod but I don't know where to start? I see that 1998yamahawarrior builds the clutch covers. I would need. I'm insure of what parts I would need asides from the obvious hoses, cooler, and cover. Are there internal pars I need? And anything else I maybe over looking? thanks in advance for the help

Using the cover mod has the cool oil hit crank bearing first. Where the big bear mod has the cool oil go to the head first. Both will help but many of the experts will tell you the cover mod is the best way to go.

Yeah dropped 1998yamahawarrior a line. Think I'm gonna get him to make me one. After riding some trails with a couple of 4x4 trucks the other day, putsing around in first gear, and still wanting to pass them. It may be a good investment. Lol

Last edited:
I went the big bear route because I had already replaced my clutch and just didn't feel like pulling my cover off again. That and with all the work I was doing to the bike at that time I didn't feel like doing the extra work to my extra cover. I like the "factory" yamaha look, too. I would say that my bike runs a good 30 degrees cooler, maybe more. When I build my spare engine I'm going to do the cover mod, since I am planning on doing a 400 big bore or stroker.

I have the Big Bear cooler, and to have seen at least a 30* drop in temps. Cool oil is just that, cool oil. It helps to extend the life of your oil, and it's viscosity. Which do you think has more heat in it, the crank bearing or the head? My ride is easier to shift, gets in and out of reverse much better, and the life of the engine will proberly double.