need some advice

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

89shee

Reaction score
hey guys i just got a 1992 yamaha warrior from a buddy of mine. it has a white bros pipe k&n air filter and thats it. i was rippin around on it ran great. washed itand got all the wires in the back because they were covered with mud i started it up and put it away for the night next morning it wouldnt start. i have no spark whatsoever.the wire that hooks to the negative on the battery is a little frayed but all lights turn on. my dad said it could be a bad ground. what does this mean. he said that since the wire is frayed it could be it. the bike turns over but will not sputter. im new to 4 strokes so any help would be appreciated thanks guys and great forum

yea man just check all your wiring unplug look at it real good then plug it back in its gotta be simple something prolly just got wet and if your cble isa frayed thats not good specially if water got on it

im getting a new cable today so hopefully it fixes the problem i looked at every wire so far and everything looks good except for one by the reverse lever. its black and was disconnected but put it back and still nothin im stumped hope its nothing serious

It's not simply a battery cable if you're getting enough power for the motor to turn over. Most likely you just got water somewhere it didn't belong, especially if you used a pressure washer. I don't touch my quads with a pressure washer anymore, it's too harsh on all the seals, bearings, and electrical components.

I'd start by unplugging each connection on your wiring harness, blowing it out with compressed air, and putting a glob of dielectric grease (do NOT use regular grease) in each connector. More often than not, the problems like this are just from water in connectors shorting things out.