Motor starts by pullstart but not electric start

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Supplementing

Reaction score
Ok. Maybe some of you seasoned veterans can help me here. My warrior starts via the pullstart and its not a problem, but something is up with the electric start. First off, I dont have a battery, but I tried hooking jumper cables to it and the frame and it like tries to start but just doesnt quite get there. The starter seems fine and seems to be doing its job (its a little worn-out), but the motor just wont fire up by the electric start. Any ideas as to what it could be? I saw somewhere it could be something to do with the stator. Any info would be helpful, I dont wanna go spend money on things that I dont need, i.e. a new starter, if its the stator. Thanks guys, and as always, I apologize for my ignorance, im a noob.

It seems like the motor rolls over fast enough to start, but its just not starting via electric start.

I would start with known problems first. (Battery)
Its nice to hop on and hit the go button, without having to pull the truck up to it or jerk on that damn rope.
Then do like Dune said.
Does it have a Black negative wire you can hook to instead of the frame?
Kind of strange that it will fire with the rope and not the battery.
So you are hooking the + to the Red wire on the bike, and the - to the Frame?

I would start with known problems first. (Battery)
Its nice to hop on and hit the go button, without having to pull the truck up to it or jerk on that damn rope.
Then do like Dune said.
Does it have a Black negative wire you can hook to instead of the frame?
Kind of strange that it will fire with the rope and not the battery.
So you are hooking the + to the Red wire on the bike, and the - to the Frame?