Just doesn't run right --need help!

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keithd

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm having a real hard time tuning my warrior up. I just cannot get it to work right! I've tried jetting from 145 to 155 and it makes NO DIFFERENCE. I've done several wide open plug chops and the plug is always dry and blackish. Same with needle clip. I've moved it from leanest to rich and no difference. It runs but not very well, especially under load...I can rev it to max and completely let go of the clutch and it'll kind of jerk and then slowly acclerate. I'm new to this whole four wheeling thing but i'd like to think this thing should be able to spin the tires in mud and wet grass. Idling is off too, i've tried the screw at 1 turn all the way to 3 turns and it makes no difference whatsoever, it's like this carb is not even attached to the bike. It has some trouble starting unless I pump the throttle, which I assume means it does not have enough fuel (a few pumps from the acclerator pump and it fires up). Because it is an 87, it has a smaller "starter jet" according to my clymer. Just what in the heck is a starter jet?It misses at idle and misses all the way up. Mods are KN filter, DG pipe, and some holes in the air box. Gas is new, spark plug is new, valve clearence is perfect.

One thing is the spark plug wire. It is hard plastic and feels "loose" to me. Regardless if this is the problem or not I'm going to replace it as it just doesn't feel right too me.

What else could I be looking for? Could the ignition timing be out? Is it even adjustable? Perhaps compression is down? Is it not getting enough fuel? Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks to all!