Finished my motor build few questions

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yzdude250f

Reaction score
I finished my motor build yesterday, weisco high compression piston,new valves, aftermarket springs, cam port work oil cooled,etc. I also did the raptor clutch arm mod, direct shifter, clamp on filter adapter, The issues im having are the bike seems lean? im unsure it will only idle on choke and its a high idle you can back the idle screw down and its still high (on choke), with choke off it stalls(with the idle all the way up) but if you hold the throttle you can get an rpm near idle but once you let off it dies, im a jetting newbie so any advice will help out, also i cant seem to get the clutch adjusted just right any-tips would help me out it grabs decent but acts as if its still engaged some and slips if you hit the gas hard, maybe its just wore out im not sure i believe it to be an adjustment issue though.

some pictures for you guys
1010512.jpg

after
1010593e.jpg

few motor pics before and after.
1010521m.jpg

1010517.jpg

1010588.jpg

1010585e.jpg

1010590.jpg

1010587.jpg

1010592.jpg

old junk piston
1010515.jpg

Last edited:
As far as jets im unsure i pulled the bowl to fix the stuck accelerator pump plunger,i would assume it was rejetted because the bike was pretty molested when i got it. so i want to rebuild the carb to stock specs and maybe go from there so i have a baseline. Also i noticed while the bowl was off....excuse my lack of terminology but the plastic dish that goes around the main jet was missing is that needed? I read somewhere of people taking that off when they rejet.Lastly tips to reach the air fuel screw while the carb on the quad i may have to buy one of those tiny thumb screw drivers for carbs, or take it off and set to factory spec and go from there.