exhuast temp

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jordysoso

Reaction score
anyone know a max temp that our headpipes get? searched and couldnt find any info on here.

Well I bought some VHT high heat **** that withstands 1300-2000 degrees. It's a silica-ceramic coating in a rattle can. Hopefully this works nice on the head pipe.

^ lol! But yeah I'm gonna spray the pipe in my basement tomorrow, it's like mid 30's all week so my barn as a spray booth is a no go. Midway, did you use any primer or just rough the pipe up and spray it? I'm new to ceramic coatings.

^ lol! But yeah I'm gonna spray the pipe in my basement tomorrow, it's like mid 30's all week so my barn as a spray booth is a no go. Midway, did you use any primer or just rough the pipe up and spray it? I'm new to ceramic coatings.

I glass bead blasted the pipe to get all the burnt on junk off it. I never have done it any other way. I don't think the paint will stay if the pipe is not cleaned to bare metal.

I don't think the paint will stay if the pipe is not cleaned to bare metal.
Actually that VHT stuff is pretty forgiving. Just as long as the surface is clean, and there isn't any loose stuff it'll stick.
Following the curing steps makes it last way longer to. Just be sure you have some windows open if you cure it in the oven in your kitchen.. lol

I have never done any curing process other than bolting it on the engine and run it. If you use the high heat clear on anything don't touch it till it has heat and cool cycled a few times. It is sticky the first few heat cycles of the engine. I painted the heat shield on my 660 with it. Rode through some dry stuff and stirred up some dirt and it stuck right in the goo.