carb help???

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

batz3

Reaction score
well i am just getting into working on quads and riding quads and i am trying to set up my bike to be as perfect as it can be. now when i start my bike it tends to backfire and seems like the carb is jumping like it hessitates. now i have been reading the manual and i am trying to get my bike to the proper idling speed. now my question is it says to turn the piolet air screw until it is lightly seated...what does this mean?? and help with this will help, cause to me the bike is idling to high and sometimes shuts off while in idle.

In order to adjust the idle properly, make sure the engine is fully warmed up.

All 4-strokes with CV carbs are gonna cough and spit a bit when cold (choke or not). Get it up to operating temp, and adjust from there.

Edit: The manual says to adjust the pilot A/F screw?? Which manual exactly? If a jet-kit, didnt they provide a base-line setting for everything?

first off let me tell you i am getting this information out of the yamaha supplementary service manual and i will write exactly what is say so i can get some help..

1 start engine and let it warm up for several minutes
- this one to me is clear
2. attatch inductive tachometer to the spark plug lead.
- this is clear to i just need to buy the tool
3. check engine idle speed with tool.
4. adjust engine idling speed
5.(now here is what i don't get) turn in the pilot air screw until it is lightly seated
6. turn the pilot air screw for the specified number of turns
7. turn throttle stop screw in or out until specified idling speed is obtained.

its a screw on the bottom of the carb in front of the bowl. You turn it in all the way then turn it out 2 1/2 turns, then adjust in 1/4 turns until you have the proper air/fuel mixture