12:1 piston questions/compression

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

headache

Reaction score
does anyone know if you can take the 12:1 je piston and machine the dome down to around 11:1 compression. would like to build a stock bore motor. i've already built a 366 on one of my other warriors and really don't want the .08" overbore again. would like to build an 11:1 motor without taking out or adding any gaskets. I've thought about contacting Arias about building a piston for me since they built the old white brothers pistons a few years ago. I just don't know what they would charge (prob wouldn't be cheap). any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

well thats what i was thinkn too. i am a machinist and can machine the dome no problem myself. I wish i wouldve measured the height of the dome on my old 10.5:1 piston and compare it to the 12:1 and would be easy to figure out an 11:1 ratio. does anyone have a piston layn around to measure?

Btw headache, if you are wanting to keep the gaskets but raise compression on a 10.25 or 10.5:1, you can do what I did and take .015" off the head and run a thinner head gasket. I'm a total .022" decked. Don't go more then .020" on the head though, after that you start screwing with the valve seats. But .015" works well.

So? The about of heat gain your talking is minimal, and with a advance spark you can run it richer due to the 4 degrees of extra burn time. So over all your talking 15* maybe.

Btw headache, if you are wanting to keep the gaskets but raise compression on a 10.25 or 10.5:1, you can do what I did and take .015" off the head and run a thinner head gasket. I'm a total .022" decked. Don't go more then .020" on the head though, after that you start screwing with the valve seats. But .015" works well.