Webcam/Hotcam ???? O_o

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

booboi

Reaction score
Ok Im pretty new to riding, and I have heard alot of talk about Webcams and hotcams. But I have no idea what they are and what they are used for.
So if anyone can explain it for me that would be great.

Webcam camshafts good. Hotcam camshafts ****. A cam controls the opening and closing of the valves in the cylinder head of an engine. Aftermarket companies regrind the lobes of the cam so that the timing of the valves will change plus add material to make the valves open further and stay open longer thus making a bit more power.

Here is an example of a few Warrior camshafts.
Picture194.jpg

Here is the valves
Picture095.jpg

And here is were the cam goes at the top of the motor.
Picture108.jpg

Here is the exhaust rocker and spring
Picture153.jpg

If you have to ask you wouldn't understand.
Way to help a newcomer.

Anyways thanks dave76, im going to pick one up soon and take to get installed. I'm going to take a class to learn how to repair,take apart, and put back together alot of off road vehicles.

my question is, why does everyone think that hotcams are ****? i have one and its great. i have heard that the webcams are more aggressive, but dont you have to send in your stock cam and just have it modified? with hotcams there is no core charge. just a replacement. i have the stage 2 stroker cam with my stroker setup and it runs just fine. just curious why people think they are ****, just because they arent as aggressive as others.