Warrior top end

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jack5tor

Reaction score
My '02 warrior has a leaking base gasket which after months of being ignored now needs to be replaced. Since I'm going in there, I'm wondering what else I should do to prevent future top end repairs... I'm not very experienced but I'm pretty sure it needs rings because it's smoking more and more on startup and sometimes while riding. I'm also guessing it will need a new piston because it's pretty beat up in general and it has a lot of hours on it. So my question is cani only replace the gaskets for the top end, the piston and rings and possibly have it bored without needing to replace more? I don't want new jets or to have to adjust the carb because I don't know how and I don't want to need to get new valves or a new cam or anything because I'm on a short budget. Besides the smoking, the engine also ticks pretty loud and I checked the timing and adjusted valve clearance but neither helped much. Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Last edited:
well the cam chain should be replaced and if it smokes on startup then its vavle seals and if it smokes while running it is rings so replace both and a new piston and hone the cylinder

Why would the cam chain need to be replaced? It's still tight and looks like its in very good condition.. I don't know if that means anything though. If the cylinder walls are damaged and it needs to be bored does that automatically mean I need carb adjustments or jets or anything?

no no usually and you may not need a cam chain but you where asking about preventative maintence while the top end was off si I was just sayin

Ohh ok that makes sense, are there any symptoms of a cam chain that may be wearing down? It seems to be in great shape but I don't know what to look for besides the obvious damage or it bring really loose