Relocation/Filtering of Warrior Crank Case vent

Discussion in 'Instructional Tutorials' started by DeathShadow, Mar 18, 2005.

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

  1. Mar 18, 2005 #1

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY - Orange County
    Recently I have been modding my airbox to except a K&N Vent filter & longer hose from the case. Most of us warrior owners know that when you run with out a lid the vent hose that once connected to the airbox lid tube can no longer reside there. Instead of just buying longer hose and routing it through a high point in the frame I have taken the initiative to mod the box to except two K&N filters. (the big normal one & the chrome small vent filter). As soon as all my parts arrive and I assemble the setup I will be updating this post further with images and instructions regarding how I did it. Expect this to be updated probably this Monday (02/21/05). :cool:

    - Death
     
  2. Mar 18, 2005 #2

    hero

    hero

    hero

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hell
    i dunno if this is the right place for it... lol but i was wondering about the crank case breather tube, why does it blow into the intake system?? isnt it hot air blowing out of that tube? dunno about quads but in cars hot air is very bad for hp :-/
     
  3. Mar 18, 2005 #3

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY - Orange County
    Yes I often thought about that myself... Just a cheap way to keep shit from getting into the case I guess!
     
  4. Mar 18, 2005 #4

    hero

    hero

    hero

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hell
    my race car has something similar, a hose running from the valve cover to the intake boot on the throttle body, i took the hose off an put a small k&n breather over it so it wasnt blowign hot air into the intake, it did seem to help alittle.. i think it would help the warrior to, id do it if my warrior was running still lol
     
  5. Mar 23, 2005 #5

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY - Orange County
    worked out great!!

    Didnt oil the filter yet but here is where it sits in the box:
    [​IMG]

    This is where the case vent hose hooks up to the box (looks like the box comes like that):
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Mar 23, 2005 #6

    hero

    hero

    hero

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hell
    same filer i have on my race car ;D they r great little filters.. so many uses
     
  7. Mar 23, 2005 #7

    sparky3008

    sparky3008

    sparky3008

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    Isn't air blowing out of that tube not sucking air in? Wouldn't air be blowing inside of the filter? So why the filter? On the Raptor it already connects into the bottom part of the filter case do we really need a filter for it?
     
  8. Mar 23, 2005 #8

    hero

    hero

    hero

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hell
    i dont think u really NEED a filter on it cuz its gonna be hard to get anything inside that tube when its running an blowing air, but it cant hurt anything to have it there really... i think that tube blows some stuff inside the airbox.. im not sure lol but iv fround some nasty stuff around the hole where that tube comes into the airbox so i dunno, it would also help keep stuff from getting in the tube while the engines not running, once i get my warrior back together im moving that tube out of the airbox altogether ;D
     
  9. Mar 23, 2005 #9

    sparky3008

    sparky3008

    sparky3008

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    Yea, moving it out all together sounds good to me. The oil blow by itself is nasty... Where would you put it though that you wouldn't have the oil that comes out of it all over the place?
     
  10. Mar 23, 2005 #10

    hero

    hero

    hero

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hell
    im not sure about that myself yet lol might have to make smaller airbox just for the tube.. im not srue if there would b enough room for it anywhere tho, after my warriors up an running again ill figure it out an post what i did ;D
     
  11. Mar 24, 2005 #11

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY - Orange County
    Its mainly there to keep shit out of the case and look cool ;D! But yeah it should help keep unwanted water and crap out of the tube (better then the stock setup atleast) and I just like having 2 K&Ns in the box and needed something to waste money on. :cool:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Mar 24, 2005 #12

    sparky3008

    sparky3008

    sparky3008

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    No offense meant, it looks sharp as hell. I would just be worried stuff would build up inside. I guess if you make it part of your routine maintenance then no worries. Great job...
     
  13. Mar 24, 2005 #13

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY - Orange County
    It's meant to be cleaned/oiled routinely with the main filter.
     
  14. May 17, 2005 #14

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY - Orange County
  15. Jul 26, 2005 #15

    yeoldetymewarrior8

    yeoldetymewarrior8

    yeoldetymewarrior8

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tabernacle, NJ
    what did u do with the connection that the hose ran to before? wouldnt i suck in dirty air through that hole?
     
  16. Jul 26, 2005 #16

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    DeathShadow

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY - Orange County
    The hose previously connected to the intake boot in the airbox lid. This method is really gay because your blowing warm air into your intake air from the case... So since I run NO LID I have no place for the vent to hook up to. So rather then have just a vent hose hanging around I made this "kit" to relocate the vent to an esthetically pleasing and functional location. The filter helps effectively keep shit like water/debris going into the tube and shit from coming out.
     
  17. Jul 26, 2005 #17

    yeoldetymewarrior8

    yeoldetymewarrior8

    yeoldetymewarrior8

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tabernacle, NJ
    ok maybe im thinkin of the wrong thing...my bad
     
  18. Dec 29, 2006 #18

    sicsscam

    sicsscam

    sicsscam

    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    none of these images are working for me. in any IE and firefox. it just shows "[image]"

    Are you just using a small KnN look a like filter on the end of the tube..

    whats the best way to go for an air filter period in the stock location?
     
  19. Dec 29, 2006 #19

    98warrior

    98warrior

    98warrior

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    thats because this topic is almost 2 years old...
     
  20. Mar 6, 2007 #20

    yamarider

    yamarider

    yamarider

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,926
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    York, PA
    how do you figure? when the engine is running there's constantly hot air blowing out of the breather. The only reason they come attached to the intake is to re-burn the fumes to reduce emissions, and to put the opening where it's somewhat protected from the elements. If they really wanted a vacuum to pull pull the fumes out they would have put it down between the airbox and the carb, not at the top of the tube where there is barely any vacuum effect.
     

Share This Page



arrow_white