Electric start button works headlights dont

Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum

Help Support Yamaha Raptor 350 & Warrior Forum:

cshmnyslda88

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
Goochland, VA
I have a 98' and I recently bought it and it did not have the headlights installed when I got it, so I tried to hook them up and nothing happens. I did some research on here and couldn't find exactly this situation. So, the start button works great, fires right up, but the headlight will not come on when the switch is flipped. If anyone can help, that would be extremely wonderful. Thank you have a great day.
 

YAMAHAULER

Super Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
7,089
Reaction score
16
Location
Wisconsin
Are you sure the bulbs aren't blown?
check with a volt meter that when you turn the switch on there is power at the plugs where the lights plug into the harness
 

Gen1Pat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
6,453
Reaction score
0
Location
Keysville, Va.
If you don't have a volt/mutlimemter, use a test light to make sure you have power and ground at the headlight connectors.
 

cshmnyslda88

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
Goochland, VA
Thanks for the quick responses! Yes I checked the headlights on by connecting them directly to a battery. I checked the light wires with a multimeter. I put the black tester on the negative on the battery and the red tester on the green and yellow connector. Is that the way you test it? If so, then it did not register anything on the multimeter. Thank you again.
 

Gen1Pat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
6,453
Reaction score
0
Location
Keysville, Va.
That is one way you can hook up the multimeter. I see we have another Virginia member on here. And close to me. Bout ****** time!
 

cshmnyslda88

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
Goochland, VA
Hell yeah..VA..Happy New Year! So do you have any idea of what could be wrong? I just took the switch apart and cleaned it and still no headlight juice.
 

Gen1Pat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
6,453
Reaction score
0
Location
Keysville, Va.
Well don't go cheering just yet. I'm a damn yankee! Lol. I'd start by looking over all the connections for corrosion, or rust. Look for broken or frayed wires. Could be something as simple as that.
 

cshmnyslda88

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
Goochland, VA
lol yea but you are where it is good now so your good...ok I took my switch apart again and now the headlights work!! yay...BUT the switch is going crazy, the lights would stay on all the time no matter what position the switch was in, with the on/0ff switch on and off, and then i moved the switch on the bar and the light would cut off when the switch was in the high beam position...now its just on all the time....?????
 

Gen1Pat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
6,453
Reaction score
0
Location
Keysville, Va.
Sounds like if all the connectors in the switch body are in their proper place, and everything else looks good. I would say to replace the multifunction switch. Which is the headlight switch you are talking about.
 
Top